Module 4: Whomp Whomp?

I don’t have any real proofs or anything from this module. Heck, I’m pretty sure my Gephi file somehow corrupted itself, so I’m about to go re-do that exercise right now.

Imgur
It exists, I swear!

I’m not really sure what I learned from this module. Well, obviously I learned some ways of visualizing data. I didn’t get too far into this one, and I think it really should be re-visited, as I currently am feeling pretty “ehhh” about the visualizing data portion of things. I’m hoping that it’s because my Texan Correspondence Data didn’t clean up the greatest, but overall, the network graph formed from my data didn’t really tell me anything at all – it was mainly a blob.

Out of fear that my file isn’t going to upload correctly, I present my completed graph:
Imgur

This has been the one exercise where I realized that I have absolutely no connection to any of the data I’ve collected or dealt with. I don’t know what’s going on in it, I don’t know who’s being talked about – I’m basically in the dark. And surprisingly, that’s okay. Because this was the first one that asked me to visualize it, and it was only then that I realized I can’t really appropriately visualize this data, because I don’t know anything about it. And that’s okay too. Because this was just practice. Nobody is going to come flying in screaming that I didn’t have academic integrity when working on these exercises. (Well, maybe they will, but that’s a whole different story)

Point is, there’s a learning curve. And while things may not seem like they’re the most relevant, sometimes it’s just about having the skills and knowledge for down the road.

Lesson taken away: sometimes you do things and they seem like they aren’t useful to you because you don’t quite understand what’s going on. That’s okay. It’ll probably be handy later. (i.e. your final project)

Leave a Reply

